Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

Promoting the art and craft of wood turning in the greater Cincinnati area

                                                                                        

 

Home2018 Class Calendar

Ohio Valley Woodturners Guild - 2018 Class Calendar
September 1, 2018 - August 31, 2019
As of September 1, 2018
This calendar makes it easy for you to see a year’s worth of events, by category, at a glance. You can more easily plan your participation and spending on those events that have fees. The calendar will be updated from time to time as events change.
Click on the title of any class listed below. This will take you to the OVWG website’s event calendar. There you will find more information about each event and you can also register for the event. You must log in to the website in order to register.
THREE DAY CLASSES
These are classes taught by woodturning professionals
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Mon - Thurs 10/22 - 24/18 Jason Swanson $375
Mon - Thurs 2/18 - 20/19 Tim Yoder $375
TWO DAY CLASSES
These are classes taught by woodturning professionals
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Sun - Mon 11/18 - 19/18 Jacques Vesery $250
Mon - Tues 1/21 - 22/19 Kai Muenzer $250
ONE DAY HANDS ON CLASSES
These are classes taught by woodturning professionals
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Sunday 10/21/2018 Jason Swanson $125
Sunday 1/20/2019 Kai Muenzer $125
Sunday 2/17/2019 Tim Yoder $125
Sunday 3/17/2019 Michael Gibson $125
Sunday 5/19/2019 John Lucas $125
TURN & LEARN CLASSES
These classes are taught by OVWG members
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Monday 9/10/2018 Turn & Learn 1 - Basic Spindle Turning #1 $25
Thursday 9/27/2018 Turn & Learn 2 - Basic Spindle Turning #2 $25
Wednesday 10/17/2018 Turn & Learn 3 - Green Wood Bowl Turning $25
Thursday 10/25/2018 Turn & Learn 4 - Dry/Finished Bowl Turning $25
Saturday 11/10/2018 Turn & Learn 5 - Lidded Box $30
Monday 12/3/2018 Turn & Learn 1 - Basic Spindle Turning #1 $25
Thursday 12/13/2018 Turn & Learn 2 - Basic Spindle Turning #2 $25
Monday 1/7/2019 Turn & Learn 3 - Green Wood Bowl Turning $25
Wednesday 1/16/2019 Turn & Learn 4 - Dry/Finished Bowl Turning $25
Saturday 2/9/2019 Turn & Learn 5 - Lidded Box $30
Monday 3/4/2019 Turn & Learn 1 - Basic Spindle Turning #1 $25
Wednesday 3/20/2019 Turn & Learn 2 - Basic Spindle Turning #2 $25
Monday 4/1/2019 Turn & Learn 3 - Green Wood Bowl Turning $25
Wednesday 4/17/2019 Turn & Learn 4 - Dry/Finished Bowl Turning $25
Saturday 5/25/2019 Turn & Learn 5 - Lidded Box $30

SKILL BUILDING CLASSES
These classes are taught by OVWG members
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Thursday 9/13/2018 Sharpening with Jon Hornbach $25
Saturday 9/22/2018 Advanced Bowl Turning with Gary Brackett $25
Saturday 10/27/2018 Pyamid Point Tool with Mary Carol Meinken and Gary Webster
$25
Thursday 11/8/2018 Christmas Ornament with Keith Bundy $25
Saturday 12/8/2018 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Thursday 1/10/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Saturday 1/26/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Wednesday 2/6/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Saturday 2/23/2019 Eccentric/Offset Turning with Arn Ward $25
Thursday 3/7/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Saturday 3/23/2019 Traditional Peppermiill with John Cahall $25
Thursday 4/11/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Saturday 4/27/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Thursday 5/9/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
Saturday 5/25/2019 Skill Building Class - Topic TBD $25
INTRODUCTION TO WOODTURNING AND THE LEARNING CENTER
These classes are taught by OVWG members for both current and prospective OVWG members. This class is required for all new members to qualify for attending Open Shops.
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Wednesday 9/19/2018 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Friday 10/5/2018 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Monday 10/29/2018 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Wednesday 11/7/2018 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Thursday 11/29/2018 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Wednesday 12/5/2018 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Thursday 1/24/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Monday 2/11/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Thursday 2/28/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Thursday 3/14/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Wednesday 4/3/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Thursday 4/25/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Wednesday 5/15/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Tuesday 6/18/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Wednesday 7/17/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
Wednesday 8/7/2019 Intro To Woodturning & The Learning Center Free
MULTI-GENERATIONAL CLASSES
These events are hosted by OVWG members. The target audience is pairs of youth (ages 11-18) and a parent or grandparent.
Day Date(s) Title Cost
Wednesday 9/12/2018 Multi-Generational Session 1 $5
Wednesday 9/26/2018 Multi-Generational Session 2 $5
Wednesday 10/10/2018 Multi-Generational Session 3 $5
Wednesday 11/14/2018 Multi-Generational Session 4 $5
Wednesday 11/28/2018 Multi-Generational Session 5 $5
OPEN SHOPS
These regular events are hosted by OVWG members. They are not intended as formal classes, but some help with skills and techniques is available, in part depending on how many members attend.
To register for an Open Shop, please go to www.OVWG.org, click on Calendars then Event Calendar, and select the specific open shop that you would like to attend.
 
This 2018 Class Calendar is also available as a .PDF document here: 2018 Class Calendar



 
OVWG Learning Center is located at Kennedy Heights Cultural Campus
6620 Montgomery Road, Kennedy Heights, OH  45213 


The entrance to our studio is on the South side of the building, by the loading dock area.

Click here for map --->     Click here for a picture of the entry door to our studio---> 

 
 
 
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OVWG is proud to be one of 350+ worldwide chapters of the American Association of Woodturners
 
We encourage you to join this fine organization.
The American Association of Woodturners (AAW) is an international, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization.
            AAW's mission is to provide education, information, and organization to those interested in turning wood.